>Love Me Some A-Line

>

(How cool is this??? I took it from Mame*’s photos on Flickr.)

I adore A-line skirts. They seem to make my curvy figure look very flattering and they look classy and fun, while being comfortable at the same time.

I was inspired to write about this because I’m wearing one today that I made a few months ago. I had never made one before but hunted around online for some easy patterns and got to work.

I would suggest just using a simple cotton fabric for your first try. Something where you don’t have to worry about fabric patterns/textures lining up or anything like that. If you have no clue how to sew on a zipper or are terrified of it, you can use a stretchy cotton fabric too, and then just pull the sucker on and off.

Now that I know how to do this, I plan on making a ton of them.

Note: It’s obviously easier to size something smaller than make it bigger. I initially made the waist pretty large because I was worried that it would be too tight on my hips when finished. Then I just kept trying it on and resewing to get it perfect. Recently I’ve been losing weight and one of the coolest things about these skirts is you just sew the side seam in tighter if need be. I did it this morning before work. It took about a minute and now the skirt isn’t sliding off of me while I walk.

Here are some sites I suggest looking at for patterns:
(I sort of read through all three to get a general idea and then tweaked it slightly for myself.)

One Crafty Girl

Craftgrrl’s LiveJournal

Tony and Dana Lewis

Leave a Reply

