>A Sunday Stew and Some Healthy Muffins

>

Sunday’s we usually make a big dinner from one of Juila Child’s recipes, as long as Chris isn’t working swing shifts. Since I go to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday I try to get as much as I can from there for our dinner. Tonight he made a lamb stew (the pics don’t even do it justice) and it was amazingly good. I must admit too, I’ve never really eaten lamb before. I’ve tried small bites but never in a meal.

I got the lamb from the market as well as turnips, green beans, peas (which we shelled ourselves), potatoes, and tomatoes. I love having everything really fresh. The green beans and peas were electric green when they were cooked and cooled. So crisp and yummy. We also got to use the Rosemary I’m growing outside.

The only things that weren’t from the market were pearl onions and carrots. Honestly next time we would just get regular onions and chop them into quarters. Dealing with the tiny ones is a pain in the tookus.



While dinner was cooking I made some Morning Glory Muffins. I’ve wanted to make these for awhile and I’m not really sure why I never have. I used a recipe from RecipeZaar.com and they turned out perfectly. I highly recommend grating everything in a processor if you can. Doing it by hand isn’t terrible but I almost cut myself a few times on the cheese grater. I added some chopped walnuts and shredded coconut too. This seems like a recipe that’s pretty easy to mess with, especially going by what the reviews say. I’m always excited with recipes that are easy to tweak.

Tomorrow morning I will be snacking on one of these muffins as I drive to work. I’m already jazzed. about it.

Leave a Reply

