>Another Reason I’m Probably an Elderly Woman

>

Whenever I heard people (by people I mean old women) say “I’m going Antique-ing” I thought that was strange. I’ve been a huge fan of vintage and used clothing for a long, long time now, but I’ve never had a huge desire to shop at antique stores.

Granted, I have had an antique/vintage typewriter and Knight Rider metal lunchbox for many years now, but that’s about the extent of it. If I needed furniture before it was going to be something cheap, and most likely from Ikea.

Now that I have a house, I want to fill it with nice stuff and not the wares of transient college students. I still love the stuff I have from Ikea, and I’m extremely proud of the fact that I put it together all by myself (most of it while I was pregnant actually). However, it’s nice to look around at things that I know I will have for quite some time.

Thankfully we have a bucketload of great antique stores just down the road from my house. Not to mention, there’s always Craigslist, which is a minor obsession of mine. Recently we bought an amazing old metal dining table from an older couple that I found on CL. It’s white and black and came with 2 chairs and all of that only cost me $90! It got a little janky when I transported it, but it’s still great.

I still needed 2 chairs for it though. I kept seeing stuff on CL but it was either too big to fit in my car, too far away, or too expensive. So today the hubby informed me that he was going to a local antique store to look for vintage razors. Incidentally he found an amazing Gillette travel razor that’s from the 60s and brand-spankin’ new. He also found two of the most perfect yellow chairs which were only $15/each. Hell yes!

So tomorrow we are going to fix the underside of the table up so the top isn’t wobbly, and then my dining room set will be complete. Now I just need some more pictures on the walls and some type of storage cabinet. I would already own one except for the fact that I don’t own a truck. In fact, I would own a heck of a lot more stuff if I owned a truck. Maybe I should buy a truck…..

Leave a Reply

