>Absolutely Perfect

>

So my mom was just in town, which was really nice, and we went to see Where The Wild Things Are. That is my most favorite book from when I was little and I’ve been reading it to Jack for several years now. Once I knew there was going to be a movie made about it, I was ecstatic. I was a little worried that it would be disappointing, but mostly just excited.

It was wonderful. Different than anything I had come up with in my childhood mind but I still loved it. I kept wondering how such a short book could be made into a full length movie, but I enjoyed getting to know the personalities of all the Wild Things. I loved Max’s costume and I’m pleased that so many people on Etsy have made versions of it.

When I was little I used to smile at the book’s ending. I thought it was very silly how Max imagined he was gone for so long, when it was really just a few minutes. Now, as a parent, when I read the last page, I don’t think of Max, I think of his mom. I think of how we take care of our kids and do nice things for them, even when they are being bratty and stubborn. It’s very sweet that his dinner is there for him, and I know I would do the same.

I like how books can change their meaning with time and life experience, but I also like that you can watch a movie version and remember the sensation of imagining whole new worlds and experiences, especially ones where you get to just act crazy and no one cares. I’m still a daydreamer, I’ve never really grown out of it. Sometimes it’s a burden, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

