>Great Grandmas are so wise

>When my mom was just here, and we made our pumpkin pie, she taught me what I should do with my extra crusts. This is something she learned from her Grandma, my Great Grandma Russo.

Take your dough scraps, ball them back up, and roll it back out. Get out butter, spread some on, then sprinkle with brown sugar. Roll the whole thing up, and cut into inch wide pieces. Then put them on a baking sheet in the oven with your pie while it’s cooking. It could take 10-15 minutes, depending on the temp that your pie is cooking at. Just keep an eye on them.

Take them out, give them a few minutes to cool, and snack away while your pie is baking! I must say that I love to learn nifty tricks from people who lived ages ago and weren’t as willing to just toss something in the trash because there wasn’t an obvious use for it.

Leave a Reply

