>It’s Snackie Time

>Jack loves snacks. He could live off of a steady diet of tortilla chips and pretzels if I let him. Every day he needs a snack at school and as soon as he gets home he wants a snack as well. The weekends are total snack fests too, so I end up buying a lot of snacks.

Chris also gets two snacks a day in his lunch. It’s a sandwich, apple and two snacks everyday, because when I’m packing it at 6:30 in the morning, my brain wants a quick and easy formula, so that I can get it packed and crawl back into bed.

So, clearly, we are going through snacks like crazy over here. Last Sunday I decided to spend 6 hours in the kitchen making snackies for my guys. Here is what I made:

I learned how to make fruit leather from this site. I’ve done it a few times before. It’s super simple but it takes a day for them to dry fully, typically speaking. I tend to just toss fruit (usually frozen) into my blender with a can of frozen juice, and some of our homemade applesauce. Then I put non-stick spray on the fruit leather sheets in my dehydrator, and just pour the mixture straight from the blender onto the sheets. Then you just turn on the dehydrator and wait.

Jack loves cheesy crackers, but the good, organic, not-filled-with-crap ones are pricey. I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for awhile. I made a double batch and we used little random cookie cutters for them. Sadly, Jack liked them fresh out of the oven, but the next day he said they tasted weird. Now they are Chris’ snacks.

I like animal crackers because they aren’t too sweet, but the store bought ones have HFCS in them. I figured it couldn’t be too difficult and found this recipe. I ended up using number and letter cookie cutters for them.

I like doing anything with cookie cutters because it just seems fun by nature, plus it means that Jack will help me, and I like when he helps me cook and bake.

Leave a Reply

