>Professor Funkenstein

>
Damn girl, you stink!

I have FINALLY conquered the funk. Parliament Funkadelic? Heck no! My B.O.!

Seriously, though, I sweat year round, even when it isn’t hot, and I’m sitting on my couch. I don’t sweat an ungodly amount, but enough that by the end of each day, I stink. Or, at least I USED to stink.

In a nutshell, I think I’ve tried every regular antiperspirant and deodorant out there. I’ve even used stuff made for dudes. I still sweat. I even used Active Dry (I think that’s what it’s called) but it’s basically rat poison that you put under your pits at night to prevent you from sweating. I probably have tumors right now from using it 10 years ago. The worst part…I still sweat profusely AND it made my pits itch and burn. Now, I understand, sweating is natural and healthy, and it’s not even the sweat that makes me angry, it’s smelling like a dirty hippy that I hate.

So after no luck with crap that could potentially be very bad for my health, I decided to just stick with plain old deodorants. Over many years I believe I’ve tried every single natural one that is on the market. I’m not even kidding either. Some worked slightly better than others, but I was still gross.

So I went to Ye Olde Interweb and was on the hunt for how I could make my own. Here’s my rationale:
-I’m stubborn and like to make my own crap.
-I could probably spend less for stuff that will halfway work.
-What’s the worst that could happen??

So I found Amy Karol’s (Angry Chicken) concoction but I didn’t have all of that stuff on hand. I figured that I could use what I had on hand, and make a decent substitute. So basically I grabbed an old jam jar from the Farmers Market and put in 3 Tbs of corn starch, 3 Tbs of baking soda, a few spoonfulls of coconut oil, and two drops of Lavender EO. I did the EO at the very end. To get everything to mix, I put it in the microwave for a few seconds at a time so the coconut oil could melt down and then I could stir stuff better. After I added the EO, I put some on my pits, sealed up the jar and went on with my day.

I’ve been using it for several days now. I’ve even been to work with it on, done housework, and all sorts of other stuff that would normally cause me to sweat really bad. I have actually sweat less and haven’t stunk at all! This absolutely blows my mind. I feel like the simplest solution was here all along and I just had no idea. I can never go back to regular deodorant again.

Word of warning. The coconut oil will harden up so when you go to use it, get some on your fingers and mush it around for a few seconds. The heat from your fingers will melt it down, and you’ll be ready to apply it!

6 thoughts on “>Professor Funkenstein

  1. sheila

    >I whipped up some of this last night! Let me tell you first of all, it looked DELICIOUS! I almost wanted to take a bite! I tried it today, and you are SO RIGHT. It works REALLY WELL! Woohoo! Thanks for much for the info.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: {winter projects 2012} DIY Deodorant | FROM SCRATCH CLUB

  3. Pingback: Let’s talk about pits, baby….

Leave a Reply

