>Beans, Beans, The Musical Fruit….

>

I stumbled across this recipe while searching vegetarian recipes with high ratings, to just get some ideas of things to make for dinner. Since Mexican food is my absolute favorite, I decided I would try it. It seemed easy enough and sounded good, plus it has tons of great reviews.

I usually buy refried beans in the can, but even the vegetarian ones have “natural flavor, soy lecithin, and soybean oil.” I put it in quotes because it’s taken right from the list of ingredients that way. Sadly “natural flavor” can be anything, even MSG. They are not required to specify. Well, I believe in Europe they are, but not in the good ol’ USA. Plus we are trying to limit how much of our food money goes to corn and soy. No, not corn on the cob and tofu, I mean, the processed crap that is in just about everything we eat. By “we” I me all of us that eat a Western Diet. Once you know what it’s hiding as (*see below) in your food, you will be stunned what they put it in. For starters, it isn’t good for you and also, we don’t really like the politics that surround it, so we are trying to eliminate it where we can. Plus, I’m trying to avoid canned stuff as much as possible. Companies aren’t making it well known (for obvious reasons) if they use BPA in their can linings, and that’s scary.

I must say we used all black beans in the recipe. We also used a dark, Mexican beer. It made them taste different than normal refried beans, but still very good. If you didn’t want the beer, you could always use stock, broth, or water. Also, you can omit the jalepenos, use less or more, or a completely different chili. We had canned green chilies on hand, so that is what we used. This recipe is very healthy, easily altered to fit your tastes, and it makes a ton! We each had a bunch on nachos the other night and still have a large container full in the fridge. I may use some this week and then just freeze the rest.

Now that I’ve done it, I’m pretty certain I won’t be buying canned beans again. So far I’ve completely eliminated the need for store bought sandwich bread and rolls, and now I’ve got beans! Hmmmm….pasta….you may be my next challenge.

* Corn Derived Products

* Artificial Flavor
* Ascorbic Acid
* Aspartame
* Caramel Color
* Citric Acid
* Corn
* Cornstarch
* Corn syrup
* Dextrose – used in most hospital IVs
* HFCS (High Fructose Corn Syrup)
* Invert Syrup
* Maltodextrin
* Natural Flavor
* Sorbitol
* Saccharine
* Xanthan Gum
* Xylitol

Leave a Reply

