>

So we’ve done it, we purchased our CSA. I can hardly believe it. I’ve been dreaming about it since last year. We used our Saratoga Local Living coupon and saved $25 so it was $500. I know, I know, seems like a lot, but if you think about it, we just paid for all of our produce for most of the year. Plus, we are going to be giving them our money each week anyway, so this way it’s just much cheaper (about 15% off the market price).

This, combined with our garden, should amount to tons and tons of yummy stuff. I’m hoping I’ll get to can or freeze a lot from my garden which would be awesome because none of that (besides blueberries, raspberries, and apples) got done last year. It’s also nice to know that we aren’t relying too much on our garden, just in case. Last summer was insanely rainy and my tomatoes bombed.

I highly recommend doing a CSA if you can. It puts money in the pocket of the farmer now to buy seeds and other things for the upcoming season. Plus, it sort of forces you to eat local and to eat more plants….both of which are very good things! You may be able to find one near you by checking out Local Harvest or by asking at a local farmers market.

Here’s another cool thing: The guy, Michael, who runs the farm is going to give me some tips for my garden so that I don’t totally screw it up. Plus, he’s on my Facebook. Now, I cannot guarantee that this will happen if you purchase a CSA, but how cool is it that I’ll have incredibly good support from a local farmer, and I can chit chat with him in venues other than the market? You simply cannot get that from buying veggies at your supermarket!

Leave a Reply

