>A good, hard look

>

Ok, I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not a perfect mom, not by a longshot. I will also say that my own mom was way more patient, organized, calm, nice, rational, and generally more maternal than I am. Also, I love being a mom, it keeps life interesting and it really is rewarding (yes, cliched, I know). I’m sure that people have seen me interact with Jack and been absolutely aghast. I’m just very open and honest with him about things, perhaps too much at times. I’m also a stickler for proper behavior. We aren’t classy by any means but I’ll be damned if I can’t take my own child out to a nice restaurant every once in awhile because he doesn’t know how to act properly for an hour.

Although I am fully aware of my shortcomings, I can’t help but get very annoyed at other parents sometimes. I don’t think “my way” is perfect, or what they are doing is wrong, but things just get under my skin. I also know that how a kid acts is not always the reflection of the parents, but a lot of times it is. I don’t know why I’m like this. I suppose I’m sort of like this with non-parental types too though. That’s me being really honest.

I need to stop it though. It’s silly and immature. Plus, it’s just not very kind. To say that I have grand dreams of being as pleasant as the Dalai Lama or Mother Theresa is simply outrageous. I don’t want to be prim and proper and bite my tongue at every little thing, but I should start to cut people some slack a bit more. Grrr…why are there always so many areas that need improving in life?

Leave a Reply

