>Waiting on Chickens

>
Source

It seems like I may have to wait longer than I thought to own chickens. Namely, I think I’ll need to invest in a fence around our property, which I don’t feel like paying for at the moment. I just don’t want to worry about the Village knowing, and about bothering those who live near me. Or, the bratty neighbor kids running over and messing with them.

It’s weird how quickly a “5 year plan” can change. I used to want to get promoted (back at CK), and then I was, then I wanted to move to NY….and we did. Then I didn’t really know what I wanted, and then I did. And what I wanted was the least likely thing. I want a homestead or a farm. I want land, and I want to support my family with that land.

Learning about not getting the chickens makes it feel like the dream is further away, although I know that’s silly. I just love this whole area. I’d love to stay near here. I want to wake up to the sounds of silly animals and work in the dirt. I guess we’ll see in a few years when Chris leaves the Navy. Fingers crossed though.

They say you can take the girl out of the city, but you can’t take the city out of the girl. They never mention that one day a rural-phobic gal would want her own stinkin’ farm. Hmmmm….

Leave a Reply

