>Rhubard Compote (insert puckery lips here)

>

In our CSA this week we got rhubarb. I really don’t have much experience with it. My stepdad used to eat strawberry rhubarb pie but the kind he would get always looked disgusting so I never tried it.

A coworker made a pie with apple and rhubarb and I tried it yesterday. It was delicious! I was excited to do something with my own, but since Chris and I are trying to chill out on the baked good for a few months, I needed something a little less sugary.

I ended up making a compote with the two stalks of rhubarb, a handful of frozen strawberries, two spoonfuls of turbinado sugar and probably 1/4 to 1/3 cup of lemon juice. I just cooked it down in a pot and then sprinkled in some powdered ginger. It was so good and tart. We spooned it over quinoa tonight.

Now I’m looking forward to saving the rest and spooning over the yummy custard style ice cream we will be making this summer.

Leave a Reply

