>Miles of Smiles

>

There are so many little things that bring me great joy. It’s easy when you have a kid, multiple jobs, bills, two never-ending wars, a horrific oil spill, etc. to get stressed, annoyed, and sad. Sometimes it’s a bit overwhelming and I have to step back and remind myself that I have it pretty good. So here are some of the things that make me smile:

-The Avett Brothers station on Pandora. It’s perfect. It’s especially good to listen to when sewing.
-Mother Earth News and Mary Jane’s Farm magazines. Reading them makes my heart ache for a farm of my own but it makes me grateful that someday I’ll have it. They also make me feel more prepared for when that day comes.
-Roller derby. It’s just awesome. There aren’t enough words to describe how much I love it.
-A light rain. I wouldn’t have necessarily said this a few months ago. Now when there’s a light rain, it means that our basement doesn’t flood (like with heavy rains) and I don’t have to water the garden. Speaking of the garden:
-I love my garden so much. I just ate broccoli from it in a salad. I walked out to my side yard, picked it, washed it, ate it. That’s effing local!
-My local farmers. Both the guy I get raw milk, eggs, and cheese from & the farm I get produce from are on Facebook. I love it. I think it’s wonderful. They are both great people.
-That baby chicks get delivered to my local post office.
-That my job allows me to meet people I would probably never meet otherwise.
-Tea and coffee.
-Lazy afternoons.

2 thoughts on “>Miles of Smiles

Leave a Reply

