>The Great Compromise of 2010

>

I went with Jack to drop off his supplies at his classroom today. I met his teacher, and she actually remembered him from last year. I guess she had helped him with reading stuff at one point.

The trip started badly because Jack fell and scraped up his elbow. Not a great way to feel walking back into school.

His teacher was nice. Kids that had her last year kept coming in to see her and to say “hi,” so I took it as a good sign. Her classroom was really nice and Jack knows a lot of the kids in the class. I wasn’t as anxiety-filled as I thought I would be. I got to see a lot of moms I know too, and it was nice to chit chat.

So, let’s get to the compromise.

A few days ago I spoke with Tara, The Organic Sister. She’s awesome. I love her blog. The “unschooling” button in my sidebar goes to her coaching page as well. I just needed to talk to someone objective about school and parenting issues. She said a few things that eased my mind. She reminded me that school is just one resource for learning, and that I’m right to want to pull Jack for special learning situations as they arise. She also reminded me that the school works for us, not the other way around.

This lifted a big weight from my chest. Already Jack will be missing almost the first 2 weeks of school. Over the weekend we found out about a class in October at a local bakery (a really freaking amazing bakery) that is going to teach kids about breads and pizza dough!!! Jack is going to this for sure. It is a “school day” but Jack won’t be there. He’ll be learning something so amazing, and quite frankly I’m a little jealous!

At Christmas break we will reevaluate how things are going at school. Jack does have a lot of friends at school and he enjoys being with them. He also likes being at home. I want to trust and respect what he wants for himself. If he is enjoying himself, he can stay. If things are frustrating and defeating, he won’t go back.

There’s so much more I could say on this topic, and will continue to come back to this over the upcoming days, weeks, and months. It’s just a nice agreement Chris and I have made. Plus I like the fact that I know so many other people who homeschool, so it isn’t a weird concept for Jack or I at this point. I think as Chris gets to meet the people we know, it won’t be such a weird concept for him either.

One thought on “>The Great Compromise of 2010

Leave a Reply

