>Finding the Balance

>

I haven’t been posting as often as I’d like because truthfully, I’m just so tired at night I can’t muster the energy.

I did want to post this because I think it’s something important, at least to me. Sometimes I have difficulty knowing my limits. I love life and experiences so much I try to do every little thing I can and then I get too stressed to enjoy all of it.

I’ve made a specific effort to slow down and control this recently.

Tomorrow and Friday I’m helping with PTA events (hosting one Friday actually) and I think I’m pretty much done for the year after that. I was going to do Super Science Saturday this year (I did it last year) but instead of hosting/planning it, I think I’ll just volunteer to help out that day instead. I’m not going to feel guilty either. Excuse my language but there are a fuck ton of parents who don’t do anything at the school, and it’s not my job to pick up the slack.

Also, I’m not stressing myself about DIY projects not started or incomplete. My costume will be made by Halloween (even if I’m finishing it that morning), I will make my brother’s bday hat (even if he gets it almost 2 months late, he won’t care), and in the dead of winter I can keep knitting when it’s too cold to do anything outside.

Also, I’m still making bread, deodorant, and a few other things, but beyond that I’m taking advantage of the store and the fact that there are good quality items available to me. For instance, today I bought organic whole grain frozen waffles at the Commissary. I haven’t done that in ages, but if it means I can eek in some extra sleep in the morning, I’ll be the better for it. I refuse to let Jack leave the house without breakfast and I don’t want him to keep eating cereal or toast with PB every day either.

Right now I’d rather spend quality time with my family, practice for derby, and get in some good exercise to heal my knee. Those are more important than any DIY project.

I would like to stress that for me DIY isn’t just about always doing it myself, but about knowing I CAN do a lot of things for myself. It’s not feeling ashamed when I buy good granola bars, but rather knowing that if we didn’t have the money for those, I could make them just as good at home.

Growing your level of skill and knowledge should never be a pain in the ass. When it gets to be a burden, stop and reevaluate. No one will ever know everything, nor possess every skill. No one really lives like Martha Stewart, not even Martha Stewart.

When I feel overwhelmed, I just remember this Teddy Roosevelt quote: “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

Leave a Reply

