>This Is What We Like To Call A "Recap"

>

Sweet potatoes in front with roasted root veg in the back.

So it’s been some time since I’ve occupied this space. My parents came from Arizona so obviously I had to spend 2 days cleaning and organizing my house and then I was busy hanging out with them.

All of us (me, the boy, and my parents) have birthdays this month. Chris’ is next month. So we got to go to Max London’s for a birthday dinner that was out of this world. This place is my most favorite restaurant ever. Everything is so delicious. They gave us our Christmas present early too, which is a gift certificate for there. You bet we’ll be back in a month.

Jack also had his birthday party, a bowling party. He’s actually pretty good and we’ve pondered him joining a bowling league. I think that would be so much fun. Bowling is much more our style. I can’t be a soccer mom. I require a sport where I can drink while watching/participating. Now that boy is up to his eyeballs in Legos, and Star Wars and all sorts of crazy things.

Good form, good focus….

I made his cake with this recipe and this decorative frosting, and it was so incredibly easy and both are vegan too. I should note this is his 3rd birthday in a row with a Star Wars cake. I think if he keeps the trend until he’s 18 George Lucas should show up and give him a college scholarship.

There is an epic battle happening on that cake.

We also had Thanksgiving. We couldn’t get a turkey though because none had been slaughtered yet. Such is life when you don’t buy meat at the grocery store. As a sidenote, we realized at the market today no one ever has turkeys this time of year there. I smell a future venture here!

Roasted root veg.

Local greens with apples from Saratoga Apple, homemade vinegarette and candied walnuts.

Coq Au Vin in the best pot known to mankind-Le Cruset!

Homemade cranberry sauce.

Instead, we got a monster chicken from Brookside Farms and Chris made Julia Child’s Coq Au Vin. It was incredible, like always. I like having a husband that can build a door, repair a lawnmower and create French cuisine. We also had roasted root vegetables, Chris’ parents’ sweet potato dish (which now my mom makes and has passed to my sister-in-law’s family as well), salad with apples and candied walnuts and homemade cranberry sauce. Don’t ever let me catch you with that canned garbage. Homemade is so easy and even Jack knows the canned stuff is blasphemy.

So that’s that. Things I still need to write about are:
-Mine and Mama Jillian’s Beaujolais Nouveau 2010 Ladies Only Feast
-The fact that my dad got me a spinning wheel for my birthday (YES!)
-I made a crocheted cowl from my fab Seattle yarn.
-And this week’s coming ThanksVegan with HMF and another family.
-Oh, and my deep, sick obsession with PBS’ reality programming.

Leave a Reply

