>NVRGVUP

>

That’s me on the right in the black shirt.

To understand what the title means you will need to head over to the derby blog and read my post over there.

This week a lot of the girls from Utica drove to scrimmage us. On the way down my stomach hurt because I was so nervous. I was afraid I was just going to look like a complete idiot in front of my league and theirs. I honestly didn’t know how it would go.

We started and something in my head clicked and things made more sense. No, I didn’t hit as much as I should, and my timing was still off a bit, and I know I still need to get better about switching from offense to defense, but I was blocking better and reacting better and things just felt right.

I left there feeling incredible. I can honestly say that I really, really hope I get to bout this season now. I’ll understand if I’m not rostered, but even if I only get to skate in 1 jam, I’ll be so happy.

This is the vegan, mostly organic cake I made for the party.

The very next night (last night) was the derby holiday party. It’s overwhelming, in a good way, to look around a room of almost 60 people and to know you are friends with them. Many of these people are not just regular people in my eyes either. They are incredibly talented athletes and leaders and amazing women.

To share beers with them is an honor, but to get knocked down by them is a great privilege that I’m very thankful for.

2 thoughts on “>NVRGVUP

Leave a Reply

