>All The Cool Kids Are Doing It.

>

Excuse the poor image quality, it’s just a screenshot of my Word doc.

Garden planning, that is.

Today I got out issues of Mother Earth News, The Backyard Homestead, and trusty Google search to help me with garden planning. Pretty much everyone I know who will be having a garden is already planning and seed shopping. It’s hard to get motivated when the snow outside is as tall as your Weber grill.

It needs to be done though. Stuff needs to be ready to go out there by mid May. Seedlings will need to be planted in a few months, which means extra seeds need to be ordered. Before I know it all the countertops in the house will be covered with seed starts.

We learned a few important lessons last year:
-Broccoli hates weather variations, and will bolt.
-Summer squash is boring and takes up too much room.
-Tomatoes are like the Incredible Hulk of the vegetable world. They may seem like mere plants but grow to have enough strength to topple heavy garden stakes and rabbit fencing.
-Peppers really, really need to be in lots of sun.

This year there are some veggies I really want, and some I’m not sure of. I don’t know if I should grow onions, leeks or scallions. I’m not sure which herbs, or if I should put some in the garden and some in pots.

I do know that I want to vertically grow the cucumbers, and have several types of tomatoes. I also want to grow the radishes that I never got around to growing last year. Plus I will do succession planting. Last time I had an entire row of mesclun mix and arugula that all came up at once. Not very smart. I will only plant a few of each this time and plant new ones every couple of weeks.

When Chris wakes up I’m going to have him look at it so we can figure out what to put in the empty space and to see if things need to be adjusted. I also wish I could actually go outside and measure the space, but considering I can’t even get to my compost right now, I don’t think that’s going to happen.

At least we’re planning this year and the space has already been turned over. We just need compost for the new half after the thaw. At this point it really feels like there will never be a thaw.

3 thoughts on “>All The Cool Kids Are Doing It.

  1. Transfarmer

    >A few friendly tips…1. plant your basil NEXT to your tomatoes, they love it, and it helps repel bugs.2. oregano used to be known as the 'plant doctor', it helps kill diseases and pests, so plant it anywhere you want.3. this is my favorite companion planting chart. http://attra.ncat.org/attra-pub/complant.html#chart4. Don't be afraid to pinch back new growth on your tomato plants when they are getting too big. In fact, I recommend it b/c then the plants focus their energy on the fruits! This is crucial right around July, when it's time for them to focus on giving us those gorgeous tomatoes, instead of trying to reach the clouds. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Erika

    >Thanks! I love basil and oregano so i'll be sure to plant a bunch. Last summer I went to town on the tomatoes one day, clipped them back, removed all the suckers, and everything and they still grew back huge! I need to be way more proactive with them this summer in regards to pruning. I had no idea they could be so powerful! I just hope this summer is another good one for them because I didn't put up nearly as much as I should've last year.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: And Here We Go Again…. | our DIY life

Leave a Reply

