No Rest for Weary Travelers

At the incredibly full Kankakee River.

We got back from our trip very late Sunday night. Without missing a beat, we all got up on Monday and decided to get some things done around the house and garden. It was good to be productive and it made me happy to see that things had sprouted while we were away. But I have a cold, and a headache, and I’m beat. I need to rest because round 2 of hanging with grandparents starts Friday when my parents come to town.

Windy City Rollers' poster at Hot Doug's!

Anyhow, it was really nice to get away for a bit. We were out in Indiana and we went over to Chicago for a day. I was born in Chicago and every time I see that skyline it makes me smile. Don’t tell NYC this, but deep down Chicago will always be my favorite.

We also got to stop in Cleveland and met a friend of mine from college for lunch on the way out there. We ate at the Great Lakes Brewing Company and stocked up on Chris’ favorite beers. Incidentally we stopped for lunch at Oberlin (where Chris went to college) on the way back, and we got stuck in a freaking protest. I hate that damn school.

I'm a way better shot than Chris with a handgun.

I got to do redneck things like shoot handguns and ride a quad through a muddy field. We also ate White Castle. Well, Chris mostly ate White Castle. I don’t really get the appeal.

It's so amazing to watch them try to stand up on their new chick legs.

In Chicago we went to the Museum of Science and Industry (my fave museum ever) and saw my most favorite exhibit…the baby chick hatchery! As a child my parents had to coax me away from this or I would’ve spent all day there. We also saw Tornado Alley at the Omnimax, which I found out was actually produced by my cousin.

He keeps having dreams of being an astronaut. Seriously.

We ate at Hot Doug’s (which bills itself as The Sausage Superstore and
Encased Meat Emporium)
and it’s probably good we don’t live anywhere near that place because their sausages are so good and unique that I would easily end up weighing over 200 pounds.

So, there you have it. A very brief recap of what will probably be our only true vacation for the year.

Leave a Reply

