Scones, Two Ways & a Pizza

Wild ramps harvested by the Kilpatrick Crew.

I’ll start with the pizza since I made that last night (sorry, no pic, I ate it too fast). I used my regular pizza dough that I make in large batches and freeze into single use portions. When it had defrosted I rolled it out and then put on some of my homemade pesto from last summer. I also put the pesto into single serve plastic baggies and then into the chest freezer.

Swiss chard is back at the market, so I chopped up a bunch of that and tossed it all over the top of the pizza. Then I cut an onion in half, and sliced it thin. That went on top of the chard. I sprinkled some shredded parm on top and put it into the oven for about 12 or 13 minutes. I was so crazy good. I can’t wait to start making summertime garden pizzas again!

Now, the scones…..

Don't you love how cranberries POP when you cook them?

This morning I made the Buttermilk Scone recipe from Baking with Julia. Sadly, I think my buttermilk has spoiled so I used raw milk instead. It wants you to add orange zest but I didn’t have any oranges on hand so I added a splash of orange juice instead. Back around Thanksgiving time I was smart and bought a lot of cranberries while they were on sale. I pulled a bag from the freezer and dumped a bunch in.

Instead of brushing the tops with melted butter, I just used more milk. Then I sprinkle with demerara sugar, because I like the big crunchy crystals on top, instead of just regular sugar.

They were so good. I’ll have one each morning until they are gone. Now I’m inspired to make different ones. I think I want to make a chocolate pecan one too, and a blueberry raspberry one with the berries I picked last summer.

To.Die.For.

Then came the savory scones! Christina sent me this recipe for Savory Squash Scones. Although they look amazing, squash season is over with now. I’ll have to make that actual recipe in the fall. I did use the base for it though.

I also chopped up three pieces (stalks? stems? I don’t really know what you call them exactly) of green garlic, half a bundle of wild ramps (maybe about 10 altogether) and sauteed them with diced ham in some olive oil.

In one day we've gone from 8 to 4. Don't think they'll last past tomorrow, they are too good to resist.

While I let that cool I made the base and shredded some Calico Cow cheddar from Willow Marsh. It’s cheddar cheese with black pepper and dried red peppers mixed in.

I folded everything together with my hands. Really, it’s just the best way to do it. Yes, it’s greasy and messy, but that’s what sinks and soap are for.

When I put the pieces on the baking sheet I brushed them with milk and sprinkled them with oregano and freshly ground black pepper.

They were so good that I ate 2 of them, and they aren’t small either. I didn’t need the second one, but I couldn’t help myself. Chris even said, “This is the best thing to come out of our kitchen in some time!” (I know that sounds kind of like an odd compliment, but there hasn’t been much more than the usual fare in our kitchen as of late.)

So, there you have it. Now I’m on a quest to see how many different crazy savory scone concoctions I can come up with!

Leave a Reply

