Day 13-The Dream Team of Productivity

This is the full piece of maple bacon Chris and Jason made, right after it came out of the oven.

It hardly feels like just a Monday since Jason and I got so much done today. When I got home from taking Jack to school I cleaned and organized all the pantries. (Long overdue.)

Jason worked on drilling holes in the small stumps of the giant lilac bush they just removed. Now they need to pour kerosene in there and set it on fire to get rid of the stump so the fence can go in.

Then we went into the garden and put up stakes and fencing next to the recently transplanted pepper and tomatoes. I’m very happy to say that the transplants seem to be doing well, which I credit to patience with not moving them too soon, and two days of good, soaking rain.

Jason weeded the heck out of the section behind the garden and I showed him how to prune and tie up our growing tomato plants. Then I plucked out some parsley, spinach and romaine to give to my neighbor.

In the afternoon we made whole wheat sandwich bread, roasted red pepper hummus, and I tried out a new recipe for granola from Heidi Swanson. Tomorrow we will make yogurt which will  go great with the granola.

We drove up to Saratoga to the library so both of us could get some books. I brought home an entire bag full of cookbooks. I really need to get back to meal planning and trying new things. I already went through 3 of them making photocopies of recipes I want to try.

I think tomorrow we will keep it a bit more simple. I have some reading and organizing I want to get done. Wednesday is the FSC Food Swap so I’ll be a bit busy then cooking and labeling everything.

2 thoughts on “Day 13-The Dream Team of Productivity

  1. Momma Chunk

    I need to get back to meal planning as well. I have found with not planning, we seem to have the same things over and over again. When I was planning our meals, we did things like taco buffet nights, and pancake buffet nights, or cowboy nights where we ate hot dogs and all dressed like cowboys. Thank you for the reminder:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

