The Biggest DIY Challenge

Sure, the fence that goes in this summer (this week actually!) will be time-consuming, exhausting, and expensive. Yes we have done other big, challenging things, and will continue to do more of them. But none will be as big as what is coming up in just a few weeks.

At that time we will officially be homeschooling parents. Crazy, huh? Well, maybe not.

Basically what it boils down to is the fact that you don’t choose the kids you end up with, but you adjust yourself to your kid(s). I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I was when Jack started school. Can you imagine 6 whole hours to do anything I want and I am not paying an hourly rate for this? Incredible.

However, school (at least right now) is not a good fit for our kiddo. I’ve thought about this long and hard for 2 years. Read books, websites, blogs; talked to other homeschooling parents and their kids. (I even had an extended email discussion back and forth with a very popular homeschooling blogger, which was amazingly generous of her.) I’ve tossed and turned and right now, especially since I’m not working a normal 9-5 schedule, it’s a good time to try something different.

I am very lucky to know many local moms who do this already, and have been doing it for some time, so that helps…a lot! It’s nice to feel like I have a community of people who do it for similar reasons as me.

The basics are that we are using some curriculum (I’ll explain what we are using specifically in future posts) for the basics for now. Most of it will come from real life, outings, events, library time, books, etc.

I will make many future posts about it and I’m open to any and all questions. I know this will be one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done, but I generally handle a challenge well so I’m ready for it.

Stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

