Humanity…we have a problem.

Recently I’ve been mulling something over.

I am incredibly lucky to have this amazing network of women in my life who love to cook, bake, and preserve and who are great at it.

I have a local community of talented and passionate farmers who provide me with things that people pay twice as much for at Whole Foods. Plus I get the benefit of their friendship and even their knowledge for when we get the chance to have a farm of our own.

I have a great local library packed with books on beekeeping and cheese making. There are NOFA conferences and food swaps and classes. Not to mention almost anything I could imagine to want to learn is just a Google search away.

But what eats at me, when I’m at a super fun cheese making party stirring a pot of curds, or trying to figure out how to make hamburger buns, is that my great grandmother would laugh at me if she were still alive.

She used to wake up each morning bright and early to bake bread fresh for the day. Every Christmas she’d knit slippers for my brother and I. She taught my mom a lot about cooking and baking, and my mom still makes her lemon meringue pie that’s so good it’ll make you want to cry.

When I talk to my grandpa, who used to have a farm of his own, about the raw milk we get he says, “Oh that stuff your mom buys at the store just tastes like water, it’s awful.” His son (my stepdad) used to have to milk all their cows before school, even with 5 feet of snow on the ground.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that people are learning about raw milk, organic gardening, canning and everything else. I think it’s fantastic. But I’m taken aback when I hear stories like Chris’ coworker asking him if you have to do something special to an egg before you can crack it and eat it. He honestly had no idea you could use it right from the chicken.

Or the patrons at the market who seriously don’t understand why we don’t carry items like lemons or avocados. I’m honestly just baffled when it happens, and sadly it happens more than you’d expect.

If we can lose all of this basic knowledge in 3 or 4 generations I sure hope it doesn’t take longer than that for us to get it back. There’s just too much riding on it.

3 thoughts on “Humanity…we have a problem.

  1. Carrie

    Thanks for all you do to help keep ‘real’ food alive and growing! Its people like you that give the next generation a chance! Keep it up!

    Reply
  2. Misty Green

    I’m reading ‘Island in a Sea of Time’ by S.M.Stirling and it resembles your post. A large group of individuals thrust into a situation that forces them to relearn the “old ways”. It’s amazing the simple, basic information we’ve lost. This post also makes me miss my grandparents who grew up living off the land and taught me a lot about it.

    Reply
  3. Erika T. Post author

    Carrie thank you for being so involved with good eating and fitness! You are a true inspiration.
    Daikini that sounds amazing! I love books like that. You should check out 2 recent novel by James Howard Kunstler that take place in a similar scenario but right out in Washington County. They are so good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

