Juicin’ It

Jack wanted to showcase his "sour face" from drinking the combo of lemons, limes and purple carrots that I made for him. He enjoyed it but his wintery chapped lips did not.

For awhile now I’ve wanted to get a juicer. From time to time I’d get the notion, browse Craigslist, find nothing and then forget about it. I really didn’t want to spend a fortune on one.

Recently I started looking again. I browsed reviews and shopped around online and it still looked like I was going to have to spend around $150. I really didn’t want to spend that kind of money but felt like I didn’t really have a choice. After all, if I was going to put in the money, I wanted something that would last.

Chris noticed they were offering a factory refurbished Black and Decker one at a local discount store. It was only $20. I had never come across the model in my search but I figured for $20 it wouldn’t hurt to try it out.

For something so inexpensive, and also refurbished, I cannot believe how well it works. I’ve been using it for over a week and haven’t been disappointed once.

Now in the morning I make juice for myself and Jack. I’ve been trying all sorts of crazy combinations. This weekend I plan on getting lots of beets at market because that is one flavor I haven’t tried yet.

Having juice this way is so much tastier than the stuff from a bottle. I actually haven’t bought juice in some time because it just seemed like kind of a waste.

I was a bit worried that by having it as my breakfast that I’d be starving an hour later. It turns out it actually fills me up. This has given me hope for the eventual possibility of a juice fast. In due time….

4 thoughts on “Juicin’ It

  1. Carrie

    Awesome. I love my juicer. I got through phases where I use it all the time and then not very much. Try this its one of my favorites!
    for each glass of juice/per person:
    about 4 large carrots
    2 apples
    and a slice (start small it’s strong) of ginger
    let me know what you think, its a favorite and the ginger is such a great healer of the digestive tract… Please share you favorite combos…

    Reply
  2. Pingback: ~happy home~ Operation Grocery Budget Reduction, The Sequel «

Leave a Reply

